Organic or not?

My answer to this would normally be – YES! Without question. But I appreciate that although it is reasonably easy to obtain organic fruit and vegetables in London, that is not necessarily the story in other parts of the UK (and elsewhere in the world). So I was very pleased when I came across this guide.
I was specially pleased when I saw that avocados are right at the bottom of the list, ie even non-organic avos have very low amounts of pesticides, yeeaay! I had heard this before but it is nice for it to be verified.
So go ahead and eat non-organic avos if that is all you can get – they are the best ever!

I was going to write about how cross ‘Supersize vs Super Skinny’ made me feel last night (Ch 4). How they could say that an admittedly slightly underweight woman could be compared to a (in my opinion) morbidly obese man – well I have decided it is not even worth getting angry about. BUT, to make her eat the revolting food that he ate?  I feel that is totally irresponsible and could have been highly dangerous. I agree that she didn’t eat very much, but hey, she was still active and looked gorgeous (which is more than could be said for him!). Still it is not worth getting angry about, serves me right for watching the goggle box in the first place. (But congratulations for both of him for having the courage to be filmed in their undies!)

3 Comments

  1. Caroline Davies said,

    January 30, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Hi Cath,

    Was reading your comments about Supersize vs Superskinny and was really interested to hear your opinion. I’m the producer of a monthly Television based Channel 4 programme called “The TV Show”. We’re looking for people like you to come into the audience on Saturday (we film in Bayswater) and put their points forward towards the programme makers.

    Would you be interested in getting involved or finding out a bit more? If so please email me at the above address.

    Hope to hear from you soon.

    Best wishes,
    Caroline

  2. Antony said,

    February 17, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Hi Cath

    Thanks for the organic or not link. I must confess I do find it all confusing. Somewhere I read that avocadoes are definite organic options because the pesticides are fat soluble and so they get into the avocado. This information seems a little more scientific – though organic is obviously a better option in all cases (though not always possible).

    Antony 🙂

  3. April 3, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Hey Cath,
    Found your blog via the GITMR community. Great info – have bookmarked!
    Thanks for the organic food/ pesticide link – my local store doesn’t sell any organic fruit and veg, so this list is invaluable.
    Peace,
    Jeff


Leave a Reply

