Tour de France here I come

I have just been to Provence for a week on a cycling holiday. It was an organised group thing but of course we did our own thing – to the extent of deciding one day to try and beat Iban Mayo’s record of cycling up Mt Ventoux (the third highest peak on the Tour). We didn’t quite get the record (his is 45 mins – it took us about 4 hours) but although it was way harder than I expected I would do it again tomorrow. Mainly for the best ever feeling cycling back down – 45 minutes and that was with the brakes on for a lot of the way!

Raw in France was possible but dull – mainly lettuce and tomato with smuggled avocado. And the only organic produce I found was some bananas. At one point we came across a guy on a tractor who had obviously been spraying some fruit trees – kind of scarey that he looked like he was on a space mission with his head totally enclosed in a bubble. And to think we are eating that food. It made me so grateful to live in London where organic food is so easily available.

By the end of the week my body was crying out for some proper nutrition – next time I go abroad I am going to make sure I take along enough spirulina and maca to last me – I have practically been inhaling these since I got back!

2 Comments

  1. Colette said,

    June 13, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Sorry you did not find any organic food… because nearly everywhere in France you can find some (except in the middle of nowhere… but then you have Mother Nature and nothing being sprayed !).
    There are various Biocoops or other health food shops in the medium-sized towns and of course in the bigger ones. And quite a bit of organic farmers, but you have to enquire about them… there are some guide books, indicating farmers, shops, restaurants selling organic, biodynamic, vegetarian, vegan foods… Not only are they in London (Town which I LOVE anyway !). (I am Raw vegan, living now in a very, very small town in the center of France !).
    Next time hopefully you’ll find them, looking a little bit deeper !
    Kind regards.

  2. Antony said,

    June 15, 2008 at 11:02 am

    What an amazing effort & how much you must have enjoyed the ride down 🙂


Leave a Reply

