The Age of Stupid

I went to see this at the weekend – and while it is an important film that everyone would benefit from watching, I was very disappointed that there was no mention whatsoever of the connection between climate change and livestock farming. And while I haven’t seen ‘An Inconvenient Truth’ I understand that movie also glosses over this aspect. Mind you I shouldn’t be surprised, we all know how attached people are to eating meat and dairy and we wouldn’t want to upset anyone would we?

I was also handed a flyer from Sustainable Haringey who are planning Haringey Carbon Reduction Fortnight in December. Which is a great idea, don’t get me wrong, but some of the ideas they are putting forward?! ‘Make public transport free for a fortnight’ WHAT?! The tubes and buses are crowded enough as it is, do they really think that it is the cost that is making people use their cars?!

Well actually, that is the only ridiculous suggestion. The rest all make sense to me. Apart from the glaring omission – how about stopping eating meat for those two weeks? Or at least for two days in the fortnight?

OK that’s my rant over with.

Leave a Reply

